Thursday, September 20, 2007

Childrens work

Al thaugt me and my head are very occupied with schoolstuff, I notice blogspotting can be a good distraction. It is'nt working with the children that troubles my mind. It's the operating system that can make it difficult for hard working teachers.

Anyway I want to share with you some of the things we (me and my very creative colleague)do with the children in our group. We just finished the subject "me and my house". this year I work children in the age 4-5 and 6. I'm so proud of them!

Wednesday, September 19, 2007

two quilts

I want to show you two of my quilts.

This pineapple quilt is a disign from

The Haan en Wagenmakers it's made from typical 'old-dutch sits' design material. it's a very large quilt. I made it with the machine but quilted by hand.
The other quilt is a sampler I made with material from my childerens clothes. I also used material from Oilily wich they used to sell in Alkmaar in an outlet store. I made and quilted this one by hand.

this quilt is my daughter's favourite, because it has all these bright colours.

In my classroom Me and my colleague also use a variety of colours, I will show you next time..

Friday, September 14, 2007


I want to thank you all for the positive remarks you send me!
Thank you, Thank you, dank jullie wel (in dutch)

Cold feet

I'm sure you know my country, the Netherlands, From all the tulips,windmills, van Gogh and Rembrand. But maybe you do not know the weather in my country ?!
It can be very windy, wet, sunny and cold...
This morning we started with a nice little sun, So, I pute my bare feet in my Italian shoes....
later on this day, it's getting grey, with rain and wind. My husband says "it's a typical womens thing" but then suddenly my feet become like ice lumbs. And I need socks and my quilts to heat them again.

That's why we have a coffin in our livingroom with different kind of quilts.

We each have our own favorite blanket, except my husband....
Yes I think it's a typicale male thing,
He never has cold feet!!

Thursday, September 13, 2007

My first picture,

Hello, my name is Heleen. I live in the south of The Netherlands. I have a hard working husband and three children in the age of 8, 11 and 12.

I work at a primaryschool as a part time teacher. A job I really enjoy!!

But when i'm not occupied with work or my family I try to practise my hobby's. Like quilting, drawing, making felt, I also like to embroider, cook and read.

My sister is a real passionate and creative'"blogger" she encouraged me to make my own blog. And with her help I have a blog. Now you are reading my first selfmade message.

My only problem will be: time... time to sit down and work at this blog. I promise to do my best to become a good and frequently blogger. So till next time..